Contacts

Extension Entomology
Ricardo T. Bessin IPM Coordinator; vegetables & fruit rbessin@uky.edu
Michael F. Potter Structural & urban pest control; medical  entomology mpotter@uky.edu
Lee H. Townsend Tobacco, forages, turf & landscape ornamentals; veterinary entomology; pesticide safety education coordinator ltownsen@uky.edu
Raul Villanueva Grain crops raul.villanueva@uky.edu
Extension Plant Pathology
Carl Bradley Soybeans, corn & small grains carl.bradley@uky.edu
Nicole Ward Gauthier Ornamentals (nursery, landscape & greenhouse), fruit crops & hemp nicole.ward@uky.edu
Emily Pfeufer Tobacco & vegetables (field & greenhouse production) emilypfeufer@uky.edu
Paul Vincelli Forages, turf, corn & forest trees pvincell@uky.edu
Extension Weed Science
J. D. Green Forages & agronomic crops jdgreen@uky.edu
James R. Martin Agronomic crops james.martin@uky.edu
4 comments on “Contacts
  1. Kristi says:

    I read the article about sweat bee’s and it says that “they don’t bite or sting” Yes they do sting. Just wondering why your article says they don’t

  2. cakaiser2014 says:

    Thank you for your comment. I have passed your question on to our Entomologist. I would expect that you would hear from him in the next few days.

    Thanks again!

  3. Tom Roehm says:

    Sweat bees sting,hover flies,also called Corn flies Do Not.

  4. The resemblance of hover flies to stinging insects is an effective defense for them. Here is a fact sheet that provides some extra information on these beneficial insects and the stingers that they resemble.
    .
    https://extension.entm.purdue.edu/publications/HN-94.pdf

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers