Contacts

Extension Plant Pathology

Carl Bradley Soybeans, small grains & canola carl.bradley@uky.edu
Nicole Ward Gauthier Ornamentals (nursery, landscape & greenhouse), fruit crops & hemp nicole.ward@uky.edu
Emily Pfeufer Tobacco & vegetables (field & greenhouse production) emilypfeufer@uky.edu
Paul Vincelli Turf & forest trees pvincell@uky.edu
Kiersten Wise Corn, sorghum & forages kiersten.wise@uky.edu

Extension Entomology

Ricardo Bessin IPM Coordinator; vegetables & fruit rbessin@uky.edu
Michael Potter Structural & urban pest control; medical  entomology mpotter@uky.edu
Lee Townsend Tobacco, forages, turf & landscape ornamentals; veterinary entomology; pesticide safety education coordinator ltownsen@uky.edu
Raul Villanueva Grain crops raul.villanueva@uky.edu

Extension Weed Science

J. D. Green Forages & agronomic crops jdgreen@uky.edu
Travis Legleiter Agronomic crops trle233@uky.edu
5 comments on “Contacts
  1. Kristi says:

    I read the article about sweat bee’s and it says that “they don’t bite or sting” Yes they do sting. Just wondering why your article says they don’t

  2. cakaiser2014 says:

    Thank you for your comment. I have passed your question on to our Entomologist. I would expect that you would hear from him in the next few days.

    Thanks again!

  3. Tom Roehm says:

    Sweat bees sting,hover flies,also called Corn flies Do Not.

  4. The resemblance of hover flies to stinging insects is an effective defense for them. Here is a fact sheet that provides some extra information on these beneficial insects and the stingers that they resemble.
    .
    https://extension.entm.purdue.edu/publications/HN-94.pdf

  5. R. Thornton says:

    Also, sweat bees are actually bees in the order Hymenoptera which includes wasps, other bees (including the European honey bee) and ants. Hover flies are in the order Diptera which includes houseflies and horse flies among so many other flies. While they are both incredibly beneficial, these two flying insects ARE NOT the same. Please consider correcting this misinformation in this publication and subsequent publications.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s